Photo: BBC

The BBC’s Doctor Who creator Chris Chibnall confirmed that the famous Time Lord will return for a 12th season.

Jodie Whittaker will continue piloting the TARDIS in season 12 along with her companions Graham O’Brien (Bradley Walsh), Ryan Sinclair (Tosin Cole), and Yasmin Khan (Mandip Gill), according to Gizmodo.

“We’re off again! Well, we never actually stopped. As Jodie Whittaker’s Doctor and friends have been winning the hearts of families across the nation this autumn, we’ve been busy with a whole new set of action packed adventures for the Thirteenth Doctor. We adore making this show and have been blown away by the response from audiences, so we can’t wait to bring more scares, more monsters, and more Bradley Walsh, Mandip Gill, and Tosin Cole to BBC One. Brilliant!” Chibnall said in a statement.

However, the major bummer for fans is that they’ll have to wait until 2020 for new time traveling adventures to begin. We’ll just have to be patient and binge-watch all the seasons of epic travel through the big ball of wibbly wobbly timey wimey stuff all next year.

Meanwhile, the team behind the hit show has been gearing up for Doctor Who’s New Year’s Day special, instead of the traditional Christmas special. They also recently wrapped up the 11th season on Sunday in the UK, while the U.S. waits for the episode to air.

h/t Gizmodo