harvey awards

For 31 years, the Harvey Awards have recognized some of the top talent in cartooning and comic books across a variety of categories. In addition to the six award categories, the annual award ceremony also inducts new members into the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame.

At this year’s ceremony — set during New York Comic Con (NYCC) on Friday, Oct. 4, at 8:30 p.m. at the Hudson Mercantile — the largest group of inductees in Harvey Awards history will join the Hall of Fame.

The seven recipients include artist Mike Mignola, who created Hellboy, and cartoonist Alison Bechdel, known for her work on the strip Dykes to Watch Out For (where the Bechdel Test first appeared). Five of Harvey Kurzman’s core MAD collaborators from the ’50s will also be inducted posthumously: Will Elder, Jack Davis, John Severin, Marie Severin, and Ben Oda.

This year’s Comics Industry Pioneer honor will go to Maggie Thompson for the work she and her late husband, Don Thompson, did as editors of the Comics Buyer’s Guide.

For more info about the awards and to see a full list of this year’s nominees, check out harveyawards.com.

Photo: Harvey Awards