Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3

The latest video game in the Marvel Ultimate Alliance debuted today, roughly 10 years after the franchise began. But before the game hit shelves (and sites), Nintendo shared some deets on Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order during the Marvel Games panel at Comic-Con International: San Diego (SDCC).

Available exclusively on the Nintendo Switch, the game will feature Loki as a playable character, for the first time. Plus, Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order will be getting free updates and a series of paid DLC packs. Cyclops and Colossus will arrive as new playable characters as part of a free update on Aug. 30, with alternate outfits for all playable characters in the game after launch through next year.

Check out the launch video here.

A paid expansion pass ($19.99) grants players access to three exclusive DLC packs as they release. The packs include story content and playable characters from other franchises, such as Fantastic Four, X-Men, and Marvel Knights. The first pack, set to arrive this fall, will include Moon Knight, Blade, the Punisher, and Morbius as playable characters.

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order is available now from stores and the Nintendo eShop for $59.99. Visit for more info.

Photo: Nintendo

About the author

Sierra McCleary-Harris

Sierra McCleary-Harris

Sierra McCleary-Harris is a senior editor at Adventure Publishing Group, editing and producing content for the Toy Insider, the Toy Book, and the Pop Insider. If she's not at her desk, you can find her somewhere doing a puzzle, losing it over the latest arts and crafts, or hanging out with her kitties Hazelnutz & Pepper Ann.